Fix VM creation bug when reusing deleted VM name

GitHub issue #167 Feature Shipped dpen2000via discord Mar 12, 2026 View Discord message View GitHub mirror

Author: dpen2000 Channel: #general Link: https://discord.com/channels/1405685085923049482/1405686123908567141/1481415648360923206


Issue

When attempting to create a VM with the same name as a previously deleted VM, the application redirects to the dashboard without actually creating the VM. This appears to be a bug in the name reuse validation logic.

Steps to Reproduce

  1. Create a VM with name "example"
  2. Delete the VM
  3. Attempt to create a new VM with the same name "example"
  4. Application redirects to dashboard without creating the VM

Expected Behavior

The VM should be created successfully with the reused name (assuming no other user has claimed it in the interim).

Context

User was asking whether VM names could be reused after deletion. The expectation was that this should work as long as another user hasn't claimed the name first, but the current implementation appears to have a bug preventing this.

discord-bug

2 Comments

dpen2000via github Mar 12, 2026

I tested this where original VM was just created: recreation of VM fails. I tested where original VM was days old: recreation of VM works fine.

josharianvia github Mar 12, 2026

I have a fix for this in the queue. Should be in prod in the next day or three. Thanks for the report!